Session 8–On Mariology, Marian Devotions and Apparitions


8.1 – Mary the New Eve

8.2 – Marian Dogmas

8.7 – Questions Asked About Mary

8.8 – SESSION NOTES – Mary


8.9 – Marian Doctrines

8.10 – Apparitions

8.10 – Questions about Mary

8.11 – Catholics do not worship statues

8.12 – Historical Development of the Rosary


OLV FP Session 8 Mary and the Saints

SPANISH OLV FP Session 8 Mary and the Saints-spanish

Click below to go to the webpage on which to watch the Symbolon video–Mary and the Saints**

**Note--Since the Symbolon series is part of the parish’s Formed digital subscription, to watch any video content, you must FIRST create a user account. Simply go to the website and enter the parish access code: 0c57cf  (the code is case sensitive and it begins with a zero). Once you have registered, you will be then able to access video content at any time by simply clicking the link below and going to the content page.

9–Mary & the Saints: Our Spiritual Mother & the Communion of the Saints

Jesus gave his mother Mary to us as our spiritual mother, and she intercedes for us in heaven before her Son. By growing in relationship with Mary–and the rest of the saints–we grow in fellowship with Christ.


We call the moment Mary was taken Body and Soul into heaven when her earthly life was ended?

The Assumption of Mary.                                                                                                                                         ##This is not to be confused with the celebration of Jesus’ going into heaven on the Feast of the Ascension

What is the Rosary?

The Rosary is a prayer Catholics have prayed for hundreds of years. It consists of various prayers such as the Our Father, the Hail Mary and the Glory Be. It also includes meditations on the mysteries of the life of Christ’s and on the life of His mother, Mary.


What are the Five Joyful Mysteries?

  1. The Annunciation – The Angel of the Lord announces to Mary that she will be the mother of the Messiah/Christ, the long awaited Savior of the World. She is to name Him Jesus and He will be called Emanuel, which means: “God with us”, because he is the only begotten Son of God. Mary humbly accepts the will of God.
  2. The Visitation – Mary visits her relative, Elizabeth, who is pregnant with John the Baptist. John jumps for joy in Elizabeth’s womb when he feels the presence of Jesus in Mary’s womb.
  3. The Nativity – Jesus is born in Bethlehem; Mary wraps him in swaddling clothes and places him in a manger.
  4. The Presentation – Mary and Joseph take the infant, Jesus, to the Temple in Jerusalem and present him to the Lord as the Law commanded for a firstborn.
  5. The Finding of the Child Jesus in the Temple – After searching for the child, Jesus; Mary and Joseph find Him in the Temple. He says to them: “Did you not know I must be in my Father’s house and about my Father’s business?”


What are the Five Sorrowful Mysteries?

  1. The Agony in the Garden – Jesus goes to the Mount of Olives after the Last Supper to pray. He prays that His Father’s will be done. He is in great agony, knowing that suffering and death on the cross awaits Him.
  2. The Scourging – Jesus beaten by the Roman soldiers. Jesus is then scourged, or whipped 39 times by the order of Pilot the Roman Governor, all because He is being faithful to God.
  3. The Crowning with Thorns – Jesus is crowned with thorns and mocked by the Roman soldiers, who cannot understand that the kingdom he brings is the reign of compassion willed by God for all creation.
  4. Jesus Carries the Cross – Jesus carries His cross to Calvary, faithful to His God and Father until the end.
  5. The Crucifixion – Jesus is nailed to the cross and dies, saying: “Father, into Your hands, I commend my Spirit.”

What are the Five Glorious Mysteries?

  1. The Resurrection – On the third day, after his crucifixion, Jesus rises from the dead. He is the Lord of the living and the dead. He appears to His Apostles and gives them the gift of the Holy Spirit to bring divine peace and he gives them the authority to forgive sins.
  2. The Ascension – After the resurrection, Jesus spent some time on Earth with the Apostles and his other disciples, however he says: “I must go to the right hand of the Father, but I will send you an advocate, the Paraclete to lead you to all truth.” Jesus is ascends to heaven telling the Apostles: “Go to all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit; and teach them all I have commanded you. mAnd behold, I will be with you always, until the end of the ages.”
  3. The Descent of the Holy Spirit – As Jesus promised, the Holy Spirit is poured out like tongues of fire upon the Apostles at Pentecost, confirming them in their faith and beginning the great building of the Church that will continue to share in the mission of Jesus until the end of time.
  4. The Assumption of The Blessed Virgin Mary – At the end of her earthly life, the Blessed Virgin Mary is taken up to heaven body and soul. In a special way, she already shares in the resurrection of the body that we too will experience at the end of time.
  5. The Coronation of The Blessed Virgin Mary – Mary is crowned the Queen of Heaven, in recognition to her special place in Jesus’ love, and as recognition of her live for all people.


What are the Five Luminous Mysteries?

  1. The Baptism of Jesus – Jesus stepped into the Jordan River and was baptized by John, The heavens opened up and God the Father said “This is my Son, the Beloved, with whom I am well pleased.”
  2. The Wedding Feast of Cana – At this wedding, Jesus changed water to wine because His Mother, Mary, asked him to help. Mary was one of the first people to believe in Jesus. Jesus performed his first miracle in Cana, and revealed his glory; and his disciples believed in him.
  3. The Proclamation of the Kingdom of God – Jesus came to Galilee preaching the Good News of Repentance and Salvation. He told the people that the kingdom of God was near and that they needed to ask God for forgiveness and pardon of their sins. This was the message of hope for of all who believed in Him.
  4. The Transfiguration – The Apostles were on Mount Tabor with Jesus. They saw the glory of God shining from Jesus, and then God the Father said: “This is my chosen Son, listen to Him.”
  5. The Institution of the Eucharist – At the Last Supper, Jesus offered His body and blood, under the signs of bread and wine. Then He washed the Apostles’ feet. He showed each of us how much He loves us by the institution of the Sacrament of the Eucharist and Holy Communion.