Session 12–On Holy Ground


12.1 – The Shape of Catholic Worship

12.2 – A Tour of the Church — Sacred Spaces

12.3 – Vestments

12.4 – Altar Vessels

12.5 – The Stations of the Cross

12.6 – SESSION NOTES-On Holy Ground

12.7 – SESSION NOTES – The Eschatological Dimension of Chuch Architecture


12.7 – Q and A from November 2004 Parish Bulletin Our Lady of the Rosary

12.8 – The Shape of Synagogue Worship

12.9 – The Eschatological Dimension of Church Architecture




What is the Pascal Mystery?

Jesus’ suffering, death, resurrection and ascension

What are the Stations of the Cross?

This is the devotion in the Catholic Church by which we remember Jesus’ final moments on earth and meditating on His willingness to carry the cross, come to know His life more deeply.

The actual stations are:

  1. Jesus is condemned to death.
  2. Jesus accepts His cross.
  3. Jesus falls under the weight of the cross.
  4. Jesus meets His mother.
  5. Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus carry the cross.
  6. Veronica wipes the face of Jesus.
  7. Jesus falls the second time.
  8. Jesus speaks to the women of Jerusalem.
  9. Jesus falls the third time.
  10. Jesus is stripped of His clothes.
  11. Jesus is nailed to the cross.
  12. Jesus dies on the cross.
  13. Jesus is taken down from the cross.
  14. Jesus is buried in the tomb.